The William Price Charitable Trust

Click here to edit subtitle

Structure and Governance

The Governing Document of the The William Price Charitable Trust is the 1993 Charity Commission Scheme which appoints the William Price Trust Company as its trustee. Other than assets held in Trust, the Trust Company holds no assets and with no financial transactions in its own right, its accounts are dormant. The Trust has 19 trustees, of whom three are incumbents of the Fareham town parishes, three are nominated by those parish councils and four others are nominated by appointing bodies - the Bishop of Portsmouth (1), Fareham Borough Council (2), and Hampshire County Council (1). Up to a further nine members are co-opted and these, as far is practicable, through residence, occupation, employment or otherwise have special knowledge of the area or are, or have been, teachers in the area. These Trustees meet on a regular basis to decide how much money is available and to whom it should be given.

 Outdoor Activities Options at St Francis School

(Photos courtesy St Francis School)

 Day to day management of the Trust

 Day to day management of the Trust is delegated to the Company Director and the Company Secretary, who are Chairman and the Clerk respectively of the Charitable Trust. There are three committees who advise separately on policy, finance and grants, and those of the Finance and Grants Committees report every six months to a General Meeting of the Trust Company. The Finance Committee is assisted in the management of its assets by a professional financial adviser who reports regularly to the committee and works closely with the Clerk, who is the only employee of the Company.


Members of the Trust Company and Charity Trustees 

 Director & Chairman of the Trust:             Mr John M Westbrook.

Company Sec & Clerk of the Trust:            Dr Christopher D Thomas.


 Mr Ian Cranstone Nominee, PCC St John the Evangelist
 Mr Fred Birkett
 Nominee, Hampshire County Council  F P
 Mrs Pamela M. Bryant
 Nominee, Fareham Borough Council
 Rev Sally Davenport Rector, Holy Trinity with St Columba  GP
 Rev Roger Jackson SSC
 Priest-in-Charge, St Peter & St Paul
 Rev Bruce Deans Vicar, St John the Evangelist
 Mrs Tina Ellis
 Nominee, Fareham Borough Council
 Mrs Donna Irving
 Nominee, Bishop of Portsmouth
 Mrs Margaret Chappell
 Nominee, PCC St Peter & St Paul  G
 Mr John M Westbrook
 Nominee, PCC Holy Trinity with St Columba GPF
 Mr Neale Fray
 Co-opted  G
 Mrs Tessa A Short Co-opted  G
 Mrs Anne Butcher Co-opted  G
 Mrs June Waller Co-opted  G
 Mr Derek Marlow Co-opted  GF
 Mr Phillip Reynolds Co-opted
 Mr Tim Geoghegan Co-opted
 Mrs Sara Heaysman Co-opted  F
 Mr David Luckett Co-opted  F


    G=Grants Committee, P=Policy Committee, F=Finance Committee